OPINION No. 1/2000 (NIGERIA)

Communication addressed to the Government on 4 May 1999

<u>Concerning</u> Samuel Onuoha, Elder Jonah A. Ezieme, Abel Ollawa, Onwuchekwa Ugbogu, Innocent Ogbuagu, Nwodeka Ezieme, Nduka Izuka, Modubuike Ukonu, Emeka Ezieme, Chief Orji Ezieme, Ibetwe Ezieme, Sampson Ulu Ezieme

The State is a party to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights

- 1. The Working Group on Arbitrary Detention was established by resolution 1991/42 of the Commission on Human Rights. The mandate of the Working Group was clarified and extended by resolution 1997/50 and reconfirmed by resolution 2000/36. Acting in accordance with its methods of work, the Working Group forwarded to the Government the above-mentioned communication.
- 2. The Working Group conveys its appreciation to the Government for having forwarded the requisite information in good time.
- 3. By note dated 30 June 1999, the Government informed the Working Group that the 12 above-mentioned individuals, who had been detained since December 1998, were released in April 1999 following an order of the High Court. The Government denies that the detention of the above-mentioned 12 individuals was arbitrary.
- 4. The Working Group transmitted the reply provided by the Government to the source, who has confirmed the release of the 12 individuals mentioned above. The Working Group is in a position to render an opinion on the case.
- 5. Having examined all the available information before it and without prejudging the arbitrary nature of the detention, the Working Group decides to file the case of the above-mentioned 12 individuals, in accordance with paragraph 17 (a) of its revised methods of work.

Adopted on 16 May 2000