ICTR-99-50-T 05-11-2003 (10425-10424)





International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda Tribunal pénal international pour le Rwanda

Or: ENG

TRIAL CHAMBER II

Before:

Judge Asoka de Zoysa Gunawardana, Presiding

Judge Khalida Rachid Khan Judge Lee Gacuiga Muthoga

Registrar:

Adama Dieng

Date:

5 November 2003

The PROSECUTOR

v.

Casimir BIZIMUNGU
Justin MUGENZI
Jerôme BICAMUMPAKA
Prosper MUGIRANEZA

Case No. ICTR-99-50-I



DECISION ON PROSPER MUGIRANEZA'S RENEWED MOTION TO EXCLUDE TESTIMONY OF WITNESSES UNTIL THE PROSECUTOR COMPLIES WITH THE TRIAL CHAMBER'S DISCLOSURE ORDER AND RULE 66(A)(ii)

Counsels for the Prosecution:

Paul Ng'arua Ibukunolu Babajide Elvis Bazawule George Mugwanya

Counsel for the Defence:

Michelyne C. St. Laurent for Casimir Bizimungu Howard Morrison and Ben Gumpert for Justin Mugenzi Pierre Gaudreau for Jerôme Bicamumpaka Tom Moran and Christian Gauthier for Prosper Mugiraneza

9

The Prosecutor v. Casimir Bizimungu et al., Case No. ICTR-99-50-I

THE INTERNATIONAL CRIMINAL TRIBUNAL FOR RWANDA (the "Tribunal"),

SITTING as Trial Chamber II, composed of Judge Asoka de Zoysa Gunawardana, Presiding, Judge Khalida Rachid Khan and Judge Lee Gacuiga Muthoga (the "Chamber");

BEING SEIZED of "Prosper Mugiraneza's Renewed Motion to Exclude Testimony of Witnesses until the Prosecutor Complies with the Trial Chamber's Disclosure Order and Rule 66(A)(ii)" filed on 2 November 2003, (the "said Motion");

CONSIDERING that this Trial Chamber has already made two Decisions on 31 October 2003 in respect of "Prosper Mugiraneza's Motion to Strike Non-Protected Witnesses from the Prosecutor's Witness List" and "Prosper Mugiraneza's Motion to Prohibit the Calling of Any Prosecution Witness until the Prosecutor Complies with the Trial Chamber's Disclosure Order", where the substantial issues raised in the said Motion were dealt with. Therefore the Trial Chamber is of the opinion that this Motion is now moot.

FOR THE ABOVE REASONS, THE TRIBUNAL

DENIES the Defence Motion in all respects.

Arusha, 5 November 2003

Asoka de Zoysa Gunawardana Presiding Judge

adilf munde

halida Rachid Khan

Judge

Lee Gacuiga Muthoga

Judge <

(Seal of the Tribunal)