WorldCourts: International Case Law Database   International Case Law Database
50,000+ decisions · 50+ institutions

29 July 1991


General List No. 86


international Court of Justice


Passage through the Great Belt








BEFORE: President: Sir Robert Jennings
Citation: Passage through the Great Belt (Fin. v. Den), 1991 I.C.J. 41 (Order of July 29)

The President of the International Court of Justice,

Having regard to Article 48 of the Statute of the Court, and to Articles 44 and 45, paragraph 1, of the Rules of Court,

Having regard to the Application by the Republic of Finland filed in the Registry of the Court on 17 May 1991, instituting proceedings against the Kingdom of Denmark in respect of a dispute concerning passage through the Great Belt (Storebælt),

Having regard to the Order of 29 July 1991 by which the Court adjudicated upon a request for the indication of provisional measures presented by Finland on 23 May 1991, in which Order the Court declared inter alia that "it is clearly in the interest of both Parties that their respective rights and obligations be determined definitively as early as possible", and that "it is appropriate that the Court, with the co-operation of the Parties, ensure that the decision on the merits be reached with all possible expedition";

Whereas at a meeting between the President and the Agents of the Parties held on 29 July 1991, the Parties agreed on the time-limits set out below,

Fixes as follows the time-limits for the written proceedings:[p 42]

30 December 1991 for the Memorial of the Republic of Finland;

1 June 1992 for the Counter-Memorial of the Kingdom of Denmark; and

Reserves the subsequent procedure for further decision.

Done in English and in French, the English text being authoritative, at the Peace Palace, The Hague, this twenty-ninth day of July, one thousand nine hundred and ninety-one, in three copies, one of which will be placed in the archives of the Court and the others transmitted to the Government of the Republic of Finland and the Government of the Kingdom of Denmark, respectively.

(Signed) R. Y. Jennings,
(Signed) Eduardo Valencia-Ospina,