Cour Pénale Internationale



# International Criminal Court

Original: English No.: ICC-Pres-01-15

Date: 13 March 2015

## THE PRESIDENCY

Before: Judge Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi, President

Judge Joyce Aluoch, First Vice-President Judge Kuniko Ozaki, Second Vice-President

**Public** 

Decision assigning judges to divisions

# Decision to be notified in accordance with regulation 31 of the Regulations of the Court to:

The Office of the Prosecutor

Fatou Bensouda James Stewart

The Office of Public Counsel for

Victims

Paolina Massidda

The Office of Public Counsel for

the Defence

Xavier-Jean Keïta

States' Representatives

**Amicus Curiae** 

#### REGISTRY

Registrar

Herman von Hebel

**Counsel Support Section** 

Esteban Peralta Losilla

Victims and Witnesses Unit

Nigel Verrill

**Detention Section** 

Paddy Craig

**Victims Participation and Reparations** 

Section

Fiona McKay

Other

All Pre-Trial Chambers All Trial Chambers Appeals Chamber THE PRESIDENCY of the International Criminal Court ("Court");

**NOTING** the election of Judge Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi as President of the Court, Judge Joyce Aluoch as First Vice-President of the Court and Judge Kuniko Ozaki as Second Vice-President of the Court on 11 March 2015:<sup>1</sup>

**NOTING** article 39(1) of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court ("Statute") and rule 4*bis* of the Rules of Procedure and Evidence;

**NOTING** the process by which the Presidency, following its establishment, has consulted with the judges in assigning them to the various divisions of the Judiciary;

**NOTING** the assignment of Judge Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi to the Appeals Division in accordance with article 39(1) of the Statute, pursuant to her election as President of the Court;

**NOTING** that when assigning judges to divisions, the Presidency considers a number of factors, including the previous involvement of judges in cases, assessing them on a case-by-case basis, and that the guiding principles informing these factors are the applicable statutory framework and the need to ensure the efficient management of the Court's workload;<sup>2</sup>

**NOTING** further that no single factor is absolute and that each factor must be followed only to the extent possible in the circumstances;<sup>3</sup>

**NOTING** that the 18<sup>th</sup> judge provided for under article 36(1) of the Statute has yet to be elected and is therefore not available for assignment;

**IDENTIFYING** which judges within the relevant divisions are available for assignment pursuant to article 39(1) of the Statute:<sup>4</sup>

<sup>3</sup> Ibid.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Press Release, Judge Fernández de Gurmendi elected ICC President for 2015-2018; Judges Aluoch and Ozaki elected First and Second Vice-President respectively, 11 March 2015, ICC-CPI-20150311-PR1096.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Presidency, Information Note on the Practices of the Presidency Relevant to the Composition of Chambers, 25 August 2011, para. 4, available to States Parties on the Extranet of the Assembly: https://extranet.icc-cpi.int/asp/ASP10session/SGG%20Documents/Forms/SGG%20view.aspx.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> *Ibid* at para. 10.

**ASSESSING** the long term needs of the Court, particularly the avoidance of mandate extensions of judges and the promotion of efficiency by composing benches which will not need to be changed later;<sup>5</sup>

**NOTING** the relative judicial workload of each available judge;<sup>6</sup>

**NOTING** the experience and expertise of each judge;<sup>7</sup>

**SEEKING** to ensure, to the extent possible, gender and geographical balance and representation of the world's principal legal systems within each division;<sup>8</sup>

**HEREBY DECIDES** that the judges shall be assigned to the various divisions as follows:

# **Appeals Division:**

Judge Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi Judge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng Judge Christine Van den Wyngaert Judge Howard Morrison Judge Piotr Hofmański

#### **Trial Division:**

Judge Joyce Aluoch
Judge Kuniko Ozaki
Judge Olga Herrera Carbuccia
Judge Robert Fremr
Judge Chile Eboe-Osuji
Judge Geoffrey Henderson
Judge Bertram Schmitt

6 Ibid

8 Ibid

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Ibid.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>7</sup> Article 39(1) of the Statute.

## **Pre-Trial Division:**

Judge Cuno Tarfusser
Judge Marc Perrin de Brichambaut
Judge Antoine Kesia-Mbe Mindua
Judge Péter Kovács
Judge Chang-ho Chung

Done in both English and French, the English version being authoritative.

Judge Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi President

Dated this 13 March 2015 At The Hague, The Netherlands