Cour Pénale Internationale



# International Criminal Court

Original: English No.: ICC-Pres-01-12

Date: 15 March 2012

### THE PRESIDENCY

Before: Judge Sang-Hyun Song, President

Judge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng, First Vice-President

Judge Cuno Tarfusser, Second Vice-President

### **Public**

Decision on the constitution of Pre-Trial Chambers and on the assignment of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Darfur, Sudan and Côte d'Ivoire situations

Decision to be notified in accordance with regulation 31 of the Regulations of the Court to:

The Office of the Prosecutor

Mr. Luis Moreno-Ocampo Ms. Fatou Bensouda **Counsel for the Defence** 

Legal Representatives of the Victims

**Legal Representatives of the Applicants** 

**Unrepresented Victims** 

**Unrepresented Applicants for Participation/Reparation** 

The Office of Public Counsel for Victims

Ms. Paolina Massida

The Office of Public Counsel for the

Defence

Mr. Xavier Jean-Xeïta

**States Representatives** 

**Amicus Curiae** 

## **REGISTRY**

Registrar

**Victims Participation and Reparations** 

Section

Ms. Fiona Mckay

Ms. Silvana Arbia

**Deputy Prosecutor**Mr. Didier Preira

**Defence Support Section**Mr. Esteban Peralta Losilla

Victims and Witnesses Unit Ms. Maria Luisa Martinod-Jacome **Detention Section**Mr. Patrick Craig

THE PRESIDENCY of the International Criminal Court (the "Court");

NOTING that pursuant to the decision of the Presidency of 13 March 2012 assigning judges to divisions in accordance with article 39(1) of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court ("Rome Statute") and rule 4bis of the Rules of Procedure and Evidence, inter alia, Judge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng has been assigned to the Appeals Division and Judges Van den Wyngaert and Herrera Carbuccia have been assigned to the Pre-Trial Division;<sup>1</sup>

NOTING the decision of the Presidency of 22 June 2011 constituting Pre-Trial Chambers whereby, *inter alia*, Pre-Trial Chamber III was composed of Judges Odio Benito, Fulford and Fernández de Gurmendi;<sup>2</sup>

NOTING the decision of the Presidency of 29 April 2009 constituting Pre-Trial Chambers whereby, *inter alia*, Pre-Trial Chamber II was composed of Judges Kaul, Trendafilova and Tarfusser;<sup>3</sup>

NOTING the decision of the Presidency of 19 March 2009 constituting Pre-Trial Chambers whereby, *inter alia*, Pre-Trial Chamber I was composed of Judges Steiner, Monageng and Tarfusser; <sup>4</sup>

NOTING that the terms of office of Judges Odio Benito, Fulford and Steiner have ended;

NOTING article 39 of the Rome Statute and regulation 46 of the Regulations of the Court;

No. ICC-Pres-01-12 3/5 15 March 2012

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> ICC-CPI-20120315-PR778.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> ICC-02/11-2

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> ICC-02/04-189; ICC-01/05-26; ICC-01/05-01/08-414; ICC-02/04-01/05-400.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> ICC-02/04-181; ICC-02/04-01/05-381; ICC-02/05-208; ICC-02/05-01/07-40; ICC-01/04-02/06-23; ICC-01/04-560; ICC-01/05-22; ICC-01/05-01/08-390; ICC-02/05-01/09-14.

### HEREBY DECIDES that henceforth:

- (i) The situation in Côte d'Ivoire ("CIV") shall be assigned to Pre-Trial Chamber I;
- (ii) Pre-Trial Chamber III shall be dissolved;
- (iii) The situations in the Democratic Republic of the Congo ("DRC") and Darfur, Sudan ("Darfur") shall be assigned to Pre-Trial Chamber II;
- (iv) The assignment of the situations in Uganda, the Central African Republic,Kenya and Libya shall remain unchanged;
- (v) The Pre-Trial Chambers shall be constituted as follows:

### Pre-Trial Chamber I - Libya; CIV

Judge Hans-Peter Kaul

Judge Christine Van den Wyngaert

Judge Fernández de Gurmendi

### Pre-Trial Chamber II - Uganda; DRC; Darfur; CAR; Kenya

Judge Cuno Tarfusser

Judge Hans-Peter Kaul

Judge Ekaterina Trendafilova

ORDERS the Registrar to file and notify this decision to the relevant parties and participants in the DRC, Darfur, CIV and Libya situations and cases therein.

Done in both English and French, the English version being authoritative.

Judge Sang-Hyun Song
President

Dated this 15 March 2012 At The Hague, The Netherlands