Cour Pénale Internationale



International Criminal Court

Original: English

No.: ICC-Pres-02/08 Date: 24 October 2008

THE PRESIDENCY

Before:

Judge Philippe Kirsch, President Judge Akua Kuenyehia, First Vice-President Judge René Blattmann, Second Vice-President

Public Document

URGENT DECISION CONSTITUTING PRE-TRIAL CHAMBERS

No. ICC-Pres-02/08

24 October 2008

Decision/Order/Judgment to be notified in accordance with regulation 31 of the Regulations of the Court to: **Counsel for the Defence** The Office of the Prosecutor Mr Luis Moreno Ocampo, Prosecutor Ms Fatou Bensouda, Deputy-Prosecutor Legal Representatives of the Applicants Legal Representatives of the Victims **Unrepresented Applicants for Unrepresented Victims Participation/Reparation** The Office of Public Counsel for The Office of Public Counsel for the Victims Defence Ms Paolina Massida Mr Xavier-Jean Keïta **Amicus Curiae States Representatives** REGISTRY **Defence Support Section** Registrar Ms Silvana Arbia Mr Esteban Peralta Losilla Victims and Witnesses Unit **Detention Section** Mr Simo Vaatainen Mr Anders Backman **Victims Participation and Reparations** Other

No. ICC-Pres-02/08

Section

Ms Fiona Mckay

THE PRESIDENCY of the International Criminal Court;

NOTING its decision of 14 March 2006 constituting Pre-Trial Chambers, whereby Pre-Trial Chamber II was composed of Judges Mauro Politi, Fatoumata Dembele Diarra and Ekaterina Trendafilova;¹

NOTING its decision of 22 April 2008, pursuant to which Pre-Trial Chamber III was composed of Judges Hans-Peter Kaul, Fatoumata Dembele Diarra and Ekaterina Trendafilova;²

NOTING the decision of the Presidency of 24 October 2008 (i) temporarily attaching Judges Fatoumata Dembele Diarra and Fumiko Saiga to the Trial Division; and (ii) constituting Trial Chamber II, composed of Judges Fatoumata Dembele Diarra, Fumiko Saiga, and Bruno Cotte;³

NOTING article 39 of the Statute and regulation 46 of the Regulations of the Court;

HEREBY DECIDES that henceforth:

- (i) Judge Fatoumata Dembele Diarra shall be replaced by:
 - a. Judge Hans-Peter Kaul in Pre-Trial Chamber II; and
 - b. Judge Mauro Politi in Pre-Trial Chamber III;
- (ii) The Pre-Trial Chambers shall be constituted as follows:

No. ICC-Pres-02/08

24 October 2008

¹ ICC-Pres-01/06.

² ICC-01/05-9.

³ ICC-01/04-01/07.

Pre-Trial Chamber I	Pre-Trial Chamber II	Pre-Trial Chamber III
Judge Akua Kuenyehia	Judge Hans-Peter Kaul	Judge Hans-Peter Kaul
Judge Sylvia Steiner	Judge Mauro Politi	Judge Mauro Politi
Judge Anita Ušacka	Judge Ekaterina Trendafilova	Judge Ekaterina Trendafilova

ORDERS the Registrar to file and notify this decision to the relevant parties and participants in the Uganda and Central African Republic situations and cases.

Done in both English and French, the English version being authoritative.

Judge Philippe Kirsch President

Dated this 24 October 2008 At The Hague, The Netherlands

No. ICC-Pres-02/08