

## **DECISION ON ADMISSIBILITY**

# CASE No. CH/01/6951

# Sulejman ĐAPO

## against

## THE FEDERATION OF BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA

The Human Rights Chamber for Bosnia and Herzegovina, sitting as the First Panel on 3 April 2001 with the following members present:

Ms. Michèle PICARD, President

Mr. Dietrich RAUSCHNING, Vice-President

Mr. Hasan BALIĆ

Mr. Rona AYBAY

Mr. Želimir JUKA

Mr. Miodrag PAJIĆ

Mr. Andrew GROTRIAN

Mr. Peter KEMPEES, Registrar

Ms. Olga KAPIĆ, Deputy Registrar

Having considered the aforementioned application introduced pursuant to Article VIII(1) of the Human Rights Agreement ("the Agreement") set out in Annex 6 to the General Framework Agreement for Peace in Bosnia and Herzegovina;

Adopts the following decision pursuant to Article VIII(2)(c) of the Agreement and Rules 49(2) and 52 of the Chamber's Rules of Procedure:

## I. INTRODUCTION

- 1. The application was introduced on 6 March 2001. The applicant requested the Chamber to order the respondent Party, as a provisional measure, to take all necessary action to cease the allocation of all apartments in Tuzla until the applicant's housing problems are solved. The Chamber rejected this request on 3 April 2001.
- 2. The applicant complains that his house in Tuzla has been damaged by the exploitation of salt water and ores and the respondent Party has not compensated him for this damage.

### II. OPINION OF THE CHAMBER

3. The Chamber finds that the applicant failed to initiate court proceedings before the Municipal Court in Tuzla for compensation of damage. The applicant has not shown that this remedy was ineffective and it does not appear so to the Chamber. The Chamber finds that the applicant has therefore not, as required by Article VIII(2)(a) of the Agreement, exhausted the effective remedies. It follows that the application must be rejected.

### III. CONCLUSION

4. For these reasons, the Chamber, unanimously,

#### **DECLARES THE APPLICATION INADMISSIBLE.**

(signed)
Peter KEMPEES
Registrar of the Chamber

(signed) Michèle PICARD President of the First Panel