CARIBBEAN COURT OF JUSTICE Appellate Jurisdiction

ON APPEAL FROM THE COURT OF APPEAL OF BARBADOS

CCJ Appeal No. BBCR2015/003 BB Crim. Appeal No 2 of 2009

BETWEEN

GAVIN WAYNE GREEN

Appellant

AND

THE QUEEN Respondent

Before The Right Honourable and the Honourables

Sir Dennis Byron, President Mr Justice R Nelson Mr Justice J Wit Mr Justice D Hayton Mme Justice M Rajnauth-Lee

Appearances

Mr. Marlon Markland Gordon and Ms. Safiya A. Moore for the Appellant

Mr. Charles Leacock, QC and Mr. Anthony L. Blackman for the Respondent

JUDGMENT of the Court

delivered on the 3^{rd} day of February, 2016

JUDGMENT OF THE COURT

Introduction

[1] For the reasons given in the judgment of the President and Justices Wit and Hayton in *Rambarran v The Queen*, ¹ Justices Nelson and Rajnauth-Lee dissenting, the Court makes the order set out below.

Order

- [2] The following orders are made.
 - (i) The appeal is allowed.
 - (ii) It is declared that "conviction", in the context of section 19(1) of the Barbados Criminal Appeal Act, Cap. 113A, means the date on which an accused is sentenced after having been found guilty; and that notice must be given of an appeal or an application for leave to appeal before twenty-one days have elapsed since the date of conviction.
 - (iii) It is declared that the Court of Appeal in its oral decision of 13th March 2015 erred in finding itself *functus officio* and in finding the applications before it for an extension of time to be an abuse of process.
 - (iv) The appellant's application for leave to appeal against conviction is remitted to the Barbados Court of Appeal for an expedited hearing and determination of the application in accordance with the order that scheduled the hearing on the 21st to 24th July 2014.
 - (v) No order is made as to costs.

/:	s/ Dennis Byron
The Rt Hon Sir Dennis Byron (President)	
/s/ R F Nelson	/s/ J Wit
The Hon Mr Justice R Nelson	The Hon Mr Justice J Wit

¹ CCJ Application No. BBCR2015/002

/s/ D Hayton	/s/ M Rajnauth-Lee
The Hon Mr Justice D Hayton	The Hon Mme Justice M Rajnauth-Lee