

## **Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment**

Distr.: General 7 June 2019

Original: English

## **Committee against Torture**

## Decision adopted by the Committee under article 22 of the Convention, concerning communication No. 777/2016\*. \*\*

Communication submitted by:	R.D. et al. (represented by counsel, Stewart Istvanffy)
Alleged victims:	The complainants
State party:	Canada
Date of complaint:	27 October 2016 (initial submission)
Substantive issue:	Risk of torture upon deportation to India

At its meeting on 3 May 2019, the Committee, having been informed that the complainants had been granted permanent residence status in Canada, decided to discontinue the consideration of communication No. 777/2016.

\* Adopted by the Committee at its sixty-sixth session (23 April–17 May 2019).

<sup>\*\*</sup> The following members of the Committee participated in the examination of the communication: Essadia Belmir, Felice Gaer, Abdelwahab Hani, Claude Heller Rouassant, Jens Modvig, Ana Racu, Diego Rodríguez-Pinzón, Sébastien Touzé, Bakhtiyar Tuzmukhamedov and Honghong Zhang. Mr. Hani expressed reservations about the decision, without entering an individual opinion pursuant to rule 119 of the Committee's rules of procedure.





ریم Please recycle